#1 User is offline   KatieP 

• Egg
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • LocationEngland
  • tielskept:
    Dotty

Posted 06 November 2016 - 08:58 AM

Hello, I'm new to the world of cockatiels but have recently adopted one. The previous owner said the bird is young and probably female. Is it possible to confirm this from a photo? I was under the impression from reading that the only way of sexing a young bird was a dna test. I doubt she'd have done this but perhaps the pet shop she got it from might have? She thinks it's between 4-8 months now. I'm just looking for some above of what to look for to confirm it's rough age and gender... if anyone can help!? Thank you in advance Attached File  20161104_142711.jpg (4.09MB)
Number of downloads: 6

#2 User is offline   Paul 

• Gold Post Award
  • Icon
  • View gallery
  • Group: Administrators
  • LocationHazelbrook, NSW Australia
  • tielskept:

Posted 06 November 2016 - 04:35 PM

Hi Katie and Posted Image to Totally Tiels Posted Image
Your cockatiel is definitely a mature male at least 6 months old. How long have you had him? And have you noticed his colouring change over the last couple of months?

Posted Image

For Lovers Of Tiels

Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image Posted Image

#3 User is offline   KatieP 

• Egg
  • Pip
  • LocationEngland
  • tielskept:
    Dotty

Posted 06 November 2016 - 04:46 PM

Ah brilliant. Thank you. I've had him 3 days... so I don't know about any changes unfortunately. Thank you for getting back to me though. I'll no doubt be back often with lots of questions about him :)

#4 User is offline   Shayla 

• Egg
  • Pip
  • LocationNetherlands
  • tielskept:

Posted 03 December 2016 - 04:20 AM