More than one cockatiel? Need Advice please

#1 User is offline   Liz 

• Egg
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • LocationUK
  • tielskept:

Posted 04 August 2017 - 12:08 AM

Hi all, I am a newbie here but i'm only here as I want the best for my lovely tiel Monty and wanted to ask those that know better than me!
I will need to give you background info so you know where i'm coming from and what i'm going on about....
SO! we had parrots of various breed but after old age and one from an unknown illness we were left with 1 parrot, a Black Headed Caique called Wally and she seemed fine and happy until she wasn't and was screeching like i'd never heard before, until one morning I discovered an egg in her cage, so Wally was a Wallina! Anyway we tried everything to get her to stop laying eggs, the noises were horrific sounding! In the end it did seem to us that it was quite the coincidence that this started as soon as she was all alone for the first time in many years! You probably guessed what I will say next, but we felt strongly she was lonely and needed company, after much research it seemed the kind of bird we were looking for was a Cockatiel which surprised me as if i'm honest i'd never liked them as all my experiences with them were from Aunties and Grannies cramming loads into small cages and them all looking either angry, stressed or scared and usually mostly bald, a right sorry sight! But after more research into the breed and many you tube videos it's fair to say I fell in love and wanted one anyway!
So I got one, my lovely Monty who I love beyond belief, he was so scared of me at first and now he loves to sit on me and wants me to sing, whistle and talk to him, I can tell how happy it makes him, especially as Wally doesn't talk or even sing much, she's a screamer! :P